What’s in my Bag?

What to pack?

Packing for a trip overseas or anywhere is overwhelming. You worry about bringing too much or too little. Consider your destination, season, and activities. I searched through many packing lists before coming up with my own. I am faced with not wanting to overpack but realizing I like to change multiple times during the day. The following is a list of exactly what I packed for my trip to Spain.

What’s in my Suitcase?

IMG_5879

Summer in Spain is hot, hot, hot. I looked at the weather and packed appropriately for the weather and the activities, which would include sightseeing during the day, dinner and cocktails at night. There are also rooftop pool and beach days.

Tops

IMG_5885

  • Four tank tops

IMG_5889

  • Three button up shirts

IMG_5887

  • Four formal tops

Dresses

IMG_5897

  • Formal dress

  • Casual dress

  • Long maxi-skirt

Bottoms

IMG_5893

  • Two pairs of jeans

  • One pair of dress pants

  • Denim shorts

  • Dress shorts

Shoes

IMG_5908

  • One pair of converse

  • Two pairs of sandals

  • One pair of formal summer booties

Swimsuits

IMG_5900

  • Three tops

  • Two bottoms

What’s on my Carry-On?

IMG_5905

  • Hoodie for the plane

  • Oversized scarf to use as blanket

  • iPad

  • Camera

  • Journal

  • Pens

  • Chargers

  • Earphones

  • Books

  • Sunglasses

  • Customized bag for toiletries

What’s in my Wallet?

  • Debit card

  • Credit Card

  • Passport

DO NOT bring items you can’t afford to lose. When taking a trip only bring essentials, I only bring my debit card and a few credit cards. I bring the credit cards that have no foreign transaction fees. There are many questions on how to buy currency. The answer is simple, withdraw out of the ATM. Notify your bank about your upcoming travel and they might be able to find partner banks oversees so you won’t be charged a fee for withdrawing money. When you take money out of the ATM it will be in the local currency, and the conversion is a lot better than any currency exchange business. When purchasing using your credit card, they will do the conversion and give you the option to pay with your currency or the local currency.  Notifying them is key so your credit cards don’t get frozen.

IMG_6143

Miscellaneous

 IMG_5926

  • Makeup

  • Hair Straightener

  • Neck pillow

  • Hair spray

  • Extra pair of contacts

  • Lotion

  • Travel size body wash

  • Sunscreen

  • Bandaids

  • Umbrella

I like to split items between my carry-on and suitcase. In case my suitcase gets lost, I like to bring a change of clothes and essentials so I can be without my suitcase for a few days. Also, traveling can be stressful, bringing items from your daily hygiene routine can make it easier on your skin and make you feel a bit more comfortable.

Always consult with TSA https://www.tsa.gov/traveler-information/prohibited-items for a list of permitted and prohibited items.

Leave a Reply

